Kandhamal riot: Twelve convicted

By Express News Service – PHULBANI

28th November 2012 10:05 AM

Twelve persons were convicted of the Kandhamal riot by the fast track court no. 2 Judge B N Mishra on Tuesday.

All the 12 belong to Jarginaju village under Raikia police limits. They were arrested for their alleged involvement in arson in the village during 2008 riots in Kandhamal.

The Judge sentenced them to six years of imprisonment and imposed a fine of Rs 5,000 on each. On failure of payment of the fine, they will undergo an additional year of rigorous imprisonment.

Ten more persons chargesheeted in the case were acquitted for lack of evidence.


One comment on “Kandhamal riot: Twelve convicted

  1. Pingback: Kandhamal riot: Twelve convicted « cognitionaman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s